• Advertisement

What is a Traditional American

Reasons for why we are all here and what we do forthcoming.

What is a Traditional American

PostAuthor: hoodoo » Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:38 pm

What is a Traditional American ?
When I was growing up I was a 'normal' American. Everyone I knew and every person society admired loved America and was proud of being an American. We knew that our representatives, for the most part, did as we directed, kept taxes low, respected and loved God, Motherhood, and baseball. We all knew the words and meaning behind our National Anthem and the Pledge of Allegiance. We were Americans.

About the time I graduated from high school, and after that fat ugly guy beat the UN podium with his cheap shoe, the hippies appeared to declare the "establishment " so "over". The stolid old-fashioned traditions of Christian morals , Right and Wrong, and National pride, held by "conservatives" were disdained by the 'flower children'. I enlisted for War, they marched in the streets against us. Now I was a war-mongering, xenophobe, and a prejudiced, narrow-minded "conservative. The protesters were "Liberals"

As the hippies went from the streets to the faculties, from the faculties to the LSM, and the demorat party, I remained a "conservative". Now I was told that I was among the abnormal fringe, right-wing. Part of a much maligned bunch of flag-waving Patriots of a bygone age. So Over. The odd thing was that I hadn't changed my views or ideals since back when I was a "normal" American.

I still believed that America, as I knew her, is the greatest Nation in the history of man. I still believed in God and Judeo-Christian morality, in the absolute value of the nuclear, hetero-sexual family. Anyone who argued against America in my presence still had a fight on their hands with an opponent who never learned to quit.